17th March 2007

I can’t believe I fell for it. One of my MSN Messenger contacts APPARENTLY sent me a chat message, saying this…

Surfing the web Ive found this useful tool in http//Get-Messenger.com/?en
Just entering your MSN Messenger account you can find out who has removed you from his/her contact list.I hope you find it useful!

It sounded worth checking out, so I clicked the link, (the colon is removed above) and tried the “service”. All is showed me after entring my Messenger ID and password was a list of my contacts, none showing as removed, so I just left, and signed back into MSN.

A minute later, I got that message from someone else too, verbatim. I instantly realized what had happened, (SCAM) and then realized that my MSN password was now out there.

Less than a minute after that, the second “sender” of the message asked ME where I had gotten the link, and I realized that HE had just gotten the message too, apparently from me.  Awwww.
I had to hunt a bit to be able to find out where to change my password for MSN messenger, and I finally found it here.

https://account.live.com/

I’ve written articles warning people about junk like this, yet I fell for this one bigtime. This one’s going to spread like wildfire…


Disclosure:
Some of the links on this website and possibly even in this article may be affiliate links. That does not in any way discount my recommendation, and I do not accept paid reviews. It's simply impossible and unreasonable to mention each possible affiliation individually, so please try to get over it ;-)

Please leave a comment, or use one of these networks for sharing...

  • del.icio.us
  • Sphinn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Digg
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Technorati

Other stuff I've written:

twitter / shendison

One Comment    

  • Mr T. - Links for everyone - says:

    Same deal I also had this.
    I too though I would have known better.

    If I could I’d shout it from the rooftops – so instead I just blogged about it, like you.

    A mighty nice way to increase traffic to their site for ads though.

Leave a Comment